pumpkinhead

In my previous post about fall, I forgot to mention one very important detail and that is my love for all things pumpkin. I even love the accompanying spices that go along with it. I even put cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg in my coffee grounds when I brew my coffee. 

On Monday Starbucks had a “soft release” of their Pumpkin Spice syrup. That basically means they’re not officially promoting their Pumpkin Spice drinks, nor do they have any of their pumpkin pastries available yet, BUT they have their pumpkin spice syrup in the house and you can order any kind of drink with it. I’ve already had a few lattes, I must confess, though I’m going to try my hardest not to get them all the time. I suppose if I want the flavor I could just order a drip coffee with the syrup in it, like Nate does. It’s such a shame they don’t sell their pumpkin spice to customers like they do their other syrups. Their reasoning is because it is dairy based, but that doesn’t make any sense to me. Just tell customers to keep it refrigerated. Or maybe they don’t have the means to stock extra and keep it fresh for those sales. I don’t know, but it is a huge bummer. I’m surprised that after 10 years they haven’t started to sell it in a tetra pack like they do with their Tazo Chai mix. I would buy that stuff on the regular! 

Oh yes, I can tell that autumn is on the way. Safeway had a pallet of squashes put this week and we were able to have our favourite for dinner the other night, Delicata. For some reason this particular one is hard to find amongst all the Butternut, Turban, Spaghetti and Acorn squashes that make their way to the stores. So when I do find them I usually buy several. Squashes keep quite well in cool, dark places so it’s one vegetable that you can buy in abundance and store.

Iv’e been asked a couple of times (when I’m in the checkout buying it) what I do with a Delicata. I’m surprised some people are clueless about what to do with a squash. I mean, look at it. It’s so solid and round(ish) and looks more decorative than edible. When I do get my hands on a Delicata (and you’re one of those who’s not familiar with how to cook one either) I like to cut it in half lengthwise, scoop out the seeds, brush a cookie sheet with olive oil, sprinkle cinnamon and brown sugar on the inner flesh, place face down the sheet and bake at about 375 for 40 minutes. You’ll know it’s ready when it’s soft and squishy. It’s that easy. In fact, cutting in half and baking in the oven is the general rule for squashes. The one squash I’ve always had a hard time with is the Spaghetti Squash. I always seem to over cook it so that I can’t make nice spaghetti noodle-like strings. It just becomes a big sopping mess. 

Anyway, I’m so excited for all things pumpkin to make an appearance and hopefully I can do some baking with it. Oh I know I could make anything with pumpkin any time of the year, but tis the season! Would you drink eggnog any other time of the year besides Christmas? Actually, that’s a dumb question because, yes, yes I would. Eggnog is delicious and that stuff is going to be coming back really soon too! I can’t wait to put it in my coffee again! 

Are you a pumpkin fan? Are you a squash fan? Do you eat it for dinner? 

Leave a Reply

