the toils of toddlerhood

Poor Hannah has been having a rough week. Between tantrums, not sleeping well at night, and the clinginess motherhood has given me a run for my money. My body is also resetting itself for a new month and in return is altering my moods in a way that I’d very much like to stop. So this week has been challenging to say the least.

I know that she’s either teething or going through a wonder week.  think it’s a wonder week because she’s popped teeth before without much of a fuss, however I’ve heard that the canines and molars are more painful so maybe she’s working one of those. But, considering she still has two laterals to go, I kind of doubt it. Anyway I have noticed new skills pop up for her. She’s figuring out how to fit shapes into holes or put the rings back onto the post. She’s not necessarily getting the right holes or putting the rings back in order, but considering she never used to make the connection before, i.e. throw all the pieces everywhere, this seems like a substantial step forward.

Behaviour wise I think the tantrums are here to stay, though I think the clinginess might ease as the “wonder week” ends. I think she’s expanding on ways to express herself and getting angry when not getting what she wants is now on the table. Joy! 😛 I knew this day would come either way, but she’s been such a good baby that I think these changes into toddlerhood will be tough if not downright miserable.

But I try my very best to sympathize with her and give her what she needs (but not necessarily what she wants :P) Since I don’t remember what it’s like to be a toddler myself, I can only imagine what it’s like to figure out the world, and your own body and mind all at the same time. I firmly believe that toddlers have tantrums not because they’re bad kids but because being at that stage of development is nothing if not the biggest onslaught of sensory overload in a child’s life. Besides that they have no concept of boundaries, which is why (as per the advice of my coworker today) I must choose my battles so that I may comfort or discipline at the appropriate times. God knows if I’ll ever get that right, but there’s no such thing as the perfect parent, amiright?

2 thoughts on “the toils of toddlerhood

  1. Hang in there… eventually, they will learn to replace screaming and kicking with words, and then the tantrums will lessen in frequency and just intensify with “meaning” LOL Don’t worry, Kira is doing this all too 🙂

    • Oh yeah, just wait until our girls learn the word “no”, lol. Actually I hear this all the time and I can’t help but think “Sure, I like to use the word ‘no’ too. Don’t you?” lol

Leave a Reply

