Working graveyard = losing sleep = metabolic fallout

Last night I worked a night crew shift, or graveyard as it were. It was my first time, and I must say that waking at 3 am to start at 4 beats missing sleep altogether. Any freaking day. I opted not to nap, which was a big mistake. I knew I’d feel tired and worn out by the time the clock passed midnight, but I didn’t expect was feeling nauseous, achy, oh so freaking HUNGRY! However, having said that, such results didn’t surprise either.

Metabolic fallout…a term I made up to describe how I felt. In case you haven’t read about it, metabolism is complicated and extremely in depth, but I’ll put it in a nutshell. We eat and sleep to fuel our bodies and give it the rest it needs to function optimally, right down to the cellular level. Miss out on sleep and/or a meal and our brains kick out stress hormones called cortisol and adrenaline. Those hormones help our bodies cope with any kind of stress, from feeling hungry to feeling nervous to the flight or fight response.

So to sum up how I felt all night long, I felt nervous: upset stomach, wanting to run to the bathroom, butterflies in my stomach, and shivering. It was a little ridiculous, actually. I ended up staying awake for 24 hours straight because we all did an hour of overtime to get everything done and cleaned up. The crazy part is that all we did was Christmas chocolate and candy, never mind the toys, decorations and gift baskets that fill our promotional aisle (our biggest aisle) during the holiday season. And to put the cherry on the cake our 24 hour Tim Horton’s was closed because they decided to be 24 hrs no more! If anything I was damn lucky I packed some pizza leftovers with me otherwise I would have had NOTHING to eat.

And eating when you’re tired is important, folks. If you’re going to rob yourself of sleep, the best thing you can do is make up for it in food, nutrient dense food that is. McDonalds wouldn’t exactly cut it, but all that saturated beef fat and salt would certainly be helpful. I probably could have avoided feeling the way I had if I was consistently eating while I worked.

So I got home around 8:30 this morning and went straight to bed after getting out of my dirty clothes. And then I only slept for 3 hours because I was woken by little miss’s constant whining and yelling, which she tends to do when she wants to go out or wants your undivided attention. But it wasn’t so bad. I got up, Nate took Hannah out, I made myself a really delicious meal of caramel apples and oatmeal and curled up and watched a movie. I may not have slept, but I did absolutely nothing, which was the next best thing. Now I’m feeling half dead again because now I’m 36 hours in with only 3 hours of sleep. But at dinner I could tell that my body wasn’t doing so great because I didn’t have much of an appetite. My metabolism had come to a grinding halt.

So I shall drink some tea and call it a night. A sleep filled night.

Leave a Reply

