A sad day

Believe it or not I haven’t had to deal with loss sudden or otherwise in all my 28 years. My great grandmother died when I was a kid, but I hardly knew her, nor had the emotional maturity to sympathize with my grandmother.

Well today that changed. I went into work earlier, intending to show off Hannah in her Halloween costume, only to have a bomb dropped that NO one was expecting. My coworker and colleague passed away last night due to a vehicle accident. She was on her way home from work and was struck by a truck. The suddenness of it all is just as shocking as her death.

She was such a wonderful person. She always had such a positive attitude, was fun to have a conversation with, and worked hard. It’s been a couple of weeks since I worked with her and perhaps that is cushioning the blow of this sad news a little. I can only imagine how those who had only just worked with her last might must feel. She’s here and then she’s just…gone. My heart is aching for her family. I met her husband several years ago at one of our staff Christmas parties and met her son a couple of weeks ago shortly after his wedding.

Right now I’m not exactly sure how I feel, all I know is that whatever I do feel it’s probably best to let it run its course. Mourning is necessary, for personal closure and to empathize with those who are also mourning. For now I just want to crawl under a blanket and seek comfort. But if there’s anything I will learn from this it is how quickly things can change and how quickly people can be taken away from us.

Rest in peace Brenda. We will all remember you and the light and enthusiasm you brought every day. It was a great pleasure

Leave a Reply

