i’m crunchy

I’m getting crunchier by the day. My personal care products are now all devoid of chemicals. I’m all natural, baby! In the next week or so I will be colouring my hair with henna instead of toxic box dye. I’m a little nervous about how it will turn out because I’m going RED, not just auburn or mahogany. However, because its natural and plant based I’m hoping my current colour underneath will tone it down a bit. It’s fine, really. I rock the red. I’m not trying overly hard to be a redhead. I just look good red and it adds so much more life than brown or blond, in my opinion.

Basically all my decisions for personal care products are based on Environmental Working Group’s cosmetic database called Skin Deep. It is so fantastic. Come to think of it, I think I talked about it in a previous post already.

I just ditched my shampoo and conditioner as well. I found this bar soap at Donald’s Market from The Soap Works. It’s pure vegetable glycerin soap without all the nasty additives that mass produced stuff has like EDTA. Unfortunately because it’s modest Canadian company their products aren’t in the database, but if you search each ingredient independently they all rank either zero or one. Anyway, until I can get my hands on their liquid glycerin to make a homemade shampoo along with some honey and coconut milk, I’m using their olive oil soap bar every other day. I know it sounds sacrilege to use a soap bar on hair, but glycerin is a humectant, meaning it retains moisture. I look at it as a solid shampoo, like a lotion bar. It certainly simplifies things in the shower to have an all purpose bar instead of multiple bottles lying around. And cheaper too! Unlike most all natural soap bars where you can pay up to $5 for a single bar of soap, The Soap Works bars are only $2 each.

One of the first changes I made was last year when I ditched my facial moisturizer. I now use pure jojoba oil. Jojoba is a good one to use because it’s very much like our own sebum. It’s also great for acne. You know the saying “Fight fire with fire”? Well, the same goes for your face and oil. Fight oil with oil! If you provide enough oil for your face it will stop overproducing to make up for all the oil stripped away from washing and balance itself out. Overproduction of oil is a major cause of acne, though I will not deny that hormones play a huge role in it as well. Most of the time my skin looks fantastic, but I do break out, usually around those two times of the month that my body is doing its thang. I’ve heard really good things about macadamia nut oil for the face as well, but I have yet to look for it.

What else….I no longer use store bought lotions, but slather myself in coconut oil when I get out of the shower BEFORE I towel off. I’ve been doing this consistently for a couple of weeks now my skin is looking better. It still looks dry, but the overall appearance of it looks healthy. I’m starting to think that the dryness is beyond anything I use topically and that it’s just the way my skin is. As long as I feed it moisture regularly that’s about all I can do.

I’ve switched to fluoride free toothpaste from Tom’s of Maine. I’ve heard good things about oil pulling, but I’m too chicken to try it because the idea of swishing oil in my mouth for 20 minutes makes me want to gag.

I stopped wearing makeup months ago, but lately I’ve been wanting to wear some again. Nothing crazy, just a bit of mascara. So I’ve been on the hunt for all natural/vegan makeup. There’s actually a lot out there and I found a brand called Earth Lab made in none other than BC’s own West Kelowna. I also found a brand called Pacifica and they have some gorgeous eye palettes. All in good time, of course, considering makeup of this variety is more expensive than the budget stuff at the drug store. But, since I don’t buy makeup anymore, I don’t think spending $20 on a mascara is going to break the bank.

Oh, and one more thing is my deodorant, which I talked about before. I just started using my homemade again with success. So far, no rash and the baking soda really holds up all day.

OH!! And I felt like a genius last night when I had this inspiration out of nowhere to make my own face scrub. Lately I’ve been breaking out when I shouldn’t be and I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s because I haven’t been washing or exfoliating. So I whipped up a scrub made of coconut oil, himalayan pink salt, lemon, and honey. The salt is a bit abrasive, I’ll give it that, but as long as I rub gently then it’s fine.

So that’s it! I’m having a lot of fun with this actually, and it will be interesting to see what I come up with as my hair grows and I accommodate its length in terms of products used.

Leave a Reply

