remembering old school blogging

I quite enjoy having a place to come and pound out thoughts in my head through a keyboard. I even used to care about having readers. I’ve been blogging since 2001, but nothing extraordinary or even interesting per se. I was a teenager when I started and the idea of “blogging” or, rather, publicly journaling my day every day so that others could comment on it seemed rather novel.

I started out on Xanga, which I actually miss quite a lot. Xanga used to be a blogging community, where it didn’t serve as a platform for totally public viewing like blogger or WordPress, but rather you had to sign up, be a user, and participate. I just loved it. I loved feeling like I was a part of something. I loved making friends, and I loved feeling self centred enough to think that anyone actually cared about what I had to say. The thing is, there were! I’ve made a few friends along the way that I STILL keep in touch with, two of which I’ve had the pleasure of meeting in the real world, despite the fact that both of them live in the UK. I’ve known them for about 13 years now. And, while we’re all pretty well connected to everyone all around the world thanks to the internet, it still blows my mind that we’ve managed to stay in touch. I guess I can’t hate on social media for everything.

Today Xanga has changed. It’s no longer the community it once was. They turned it into Xanga 2.0, whatever that means, and they require you to pay to use the new interface. Seems like a rather stupid move considering all the other free blogging sites out there. I don’t know why they would shoot themselves in the foot like that.

At any rate, I’m here now, and I do still have a space on Blogger, though I haven’t used it in over a year. Before I was letting it bother me that the who concept of blogging has totally changed to more of an advice and information providing base than just some one writing about their own lives. But now I’ve given up on waiting for others to take interest in my blog because it doesn’t matter. I’m here because I’m here and I’ll write what I want and nobody has to read it. That’s fine by me because it’s all about the actual process of writing. I’m too disorganized to do anything creative, though I do give it a go once in a while,

Leave a Reply

